The Motherland

I’m not gonna lie. I was a bit reluctant and hesitant to take a 2 and a half week trip across the globe. The long hours on the plane, the hot, sticky, and humid air, and the partial language barrier were a few of the many things I loathed.

Who would have thought 2 and a half weeks later, as I was leaving Manila on my flight to SFO, I would have felt practically heartbroken to leave? I would miss the hospitality. I would miss my Mom’s little hometown. I would miss sleeping at my Dad’s childhood house. I would miss the hilarious little girl who only spoke Tagalog and attempted to speak Tag-lish with us. I would miss hearing stories about my parents.

You don’t really realize how “American” you are until you are removed from your comfort zone. What ever happened to hospitality? Respect? Family values? When did life become all about “What am I going to do tonight?” Don’t get me wrong, I know I’ve become a victim to this thought process. I think we all have. To be honest, I learned moreso how to appreciate those things than the culture itself.

So, what I’m really trying to say is… in similar words of my Cultural Geography professor Craig Davis: All you heathens should go visit a developing or third-world country and quit worrying about petty things like what party to go to.

Jamie

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

