Beauty, Shmeauty.

Growing up in the suburbs and going through my high school and post-high school experiences as a non-white-skinned, black-haired, almond-shaped tear drop eyed girl, my experiences and observations forced me to conjure up this image of beauty: blonde or brown hair, blue eyes, tall stature, skinny waist, toned abs, nice ass, bit tits, big lips, and tan skin (horribly, horribly fake tan skin). This left nearly no room for me in this definition of “beauty” and it was a bit discouraging at times and yes, it still can be. I had grown sick and tired of having solely Asian guys getting at me, and Asian guys who solely liked white girls. If you scan through your local magazine stand, all your “it-girls” and icons are almost identical. Don’t get me wrong, we’ve made it a long way since the 1950’s, but let’s be honest. Our image of beauty still stands somewhat close to that same standard.

Just the other day, Daniel had emailed me Photographer Terry Richardson’s blog and website, urging me to look at the pictures. Of course I was impressed and of course I liked the photos. I looked through Terry’s Diary ,  hoping to find inspiration, but after a while I found it tough. Why? Click on the link yourself, and what do you notice?

Don’t get me wrong; the pictures and models are beautiful in its own right. But honestly, I grew sick  and a tad annoyed of skimming through the same hipster-looking, light-eyed, heroine-chic, partially undressed, waif girls.  I think most of us can agree this is the “newer” trend of beauty.

When I went on vacation (refer to previous post below), I immediately noticed how their differences image of beauty. I bought a couple magazines just for keepsakes that were akin to Seventeen, Marie Claire, Vogue, etc. Interestingly yet obviously enough, I found myself relating a lot more the contents of the magazines a lot more. Of course, the skinny figure will always be “in,” but it was refreshing to see something different, for once.

So what is beauty, anyways? What do you think?

Jamie

P.S White boys with yellow fever, I applaud you.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Beauty, Shmeauty.

  1. Schmeuty is in the eye of the Schbeholder. James, you are schmeutiful, don’t believe the hype. 🙂 always have thought, always will. and not in the “heroine-chic” sorta way. but you must admit, had you been a young black woman, a whitesky, or even a native-american (and oh, i wish you were) you might replace light skin, blue eyes, blonde hair with something more jamie. 🙂

  2. Aw, thanks, Davesies……

Leave a Reply

