Rookie.

This school semester, I decided to start officially writing again by becoming a writer/reporter for the Sacramento City College Express newspaper. This was the first time that I have written for an official publication, disregarding the fact that I’ve written for my mediocre high school newspaper a couple of years ago.

I signed up not knowing that this class would be the most time-consuming and difficult. I didn’t know what a good “lead” was. I didn’t know that there were real deadlines. I had no clue how to interview strangers. I was a straight-up rookie. I still am a rookie.

Nonetheless, I learned so much within the past couple months about journalism in general and what it takes to be a good reporter. The supervisors for the paper urged me to apply for editor next semester, but I had to turn it down due to time conflicts and constraints. I plan to be an editor for the publication sometime, hopefully soon!

I’m grateful of everything I’ve learned and the guidance I’ve received from the supervisors and the editors I’ve worked with. I’m still new to it, but I’m excited to learn more about the field and hopefully gain more experience!

For our end of semester project, my classmates and I were required to make an online compilation of our work in a blog. With the rising reliance on technology and mainly computers, it’s no surprise that employers now expect online portfolios or blogs. After all my hard work and time, I think it’s finally time to share with you guys my blog/writing portfolio: www.jamiesantiago.wordpress.com. It’s all relatively new and there isn’t much. But it contains most of my published articles; I plan for it to grow, so keep your eyes peeled.

Also, for the summer, I will be starting my internship at Sacramento News and Review! So I will definitely incorporateĀ some things I’m learning there and events I’m involved with in this blog.

In order to keep my writing/reporter skills sharp, I plan to interview people who Daniel and I find relative to this blog or people who I think I or any readers can learn from. I’ve already written a mental list in my mind of potential candidates and I’m very excited for you guys to read about them!

Thanks for reading, guys.

Jamie

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

